Are you on Facebook yet?

With the rapid degradation of Friendster, where viewing people’s profiles causes your laptop to suddenly sing very loudly in the dead of the night, annoying backgrounds with psychedelic colours or where you get crazy adds from the most random of people, Facebook has now become my next online tool to waste time. For a while, I was using http://www.thefreedictionary.com to waste my while away, playing wordgames and spelling bee, and then Lo and Behold, Facebook proved its worth. Not only does it do a better job at filtering weird people out, its strict white and blue theme that cannot be changed keeps things very neat. You can upload many photographs, write on friends’ walls, buy them drinks, throw food at them, cast Harry Potter spells on them and even get them gifts. Of course, there are so many other things such as putting up your favourite books and movies.

Now all of these, begs this question, why? Why do people log onto the world wide web to do all these things online? I think it’s because many of us live in isolation- away from friends and family. Geographical and emotional wise. Sure, we go out and meet them, but at the end of the day, late at night, insomnia strikes, and what do we do? We log on and start throwing chocolate sauce and TV dinners at friends. And don’t forget, how about all those times when you are supposed to be doing an important reading/assignment/homework due a week/day/hour from now? Enter Facebook. The ultimate time occupier. I’m also reconnecting with those few good friends that I miss and have not seen in a long, long time.

Well. I will stop now. I have been struck by an awful flu bug that is going around and my fever acts up now and then, coupled with the bodyache and clogged nose. My craving for a nice cold glass of Passionfruit Margarita is not helping things. Dammit. I’m suddenly wondering what was the whole point of typing out this entry… ah, I remember. I have a reading due.. in 3 hours from now. Off I go. TV beckons. :)

7 Responses to “Are you on Facebook yet?”

  1. thegerl86 Says:

    after reading ur post, I’m tempted to join facebook! =P

  2. hahaa well, you should, s’heart! at first, it may seem boring, but once you get into the flow of things, and start adding applications, it gets really addictive, I tell you. trust me. =P

  3. AAahhhhh I just joined facebook. And I am lost. So I did the safest thing. I added u. Will go abt figurin out frm there.

    Hope you are doing fine.

    *hugs* =)

  4. thegerl86 Says:

    high 5! I joined too :P

  5. ranjini: heeheehee it is addictive.
    Now, invite all your friends! =) I threw chocolate sauce at you! =P

    I’m good, darling. I hope you’re doing great. *hugs right back*

    thegerl86: hahah high 5! =P

  6. I can’t seem to figure out facebook..it is so so so complicated. It makes me feel so stupid :(

  7. Alamak. Why?? No, no don’t feel like that! =( It is really quite simple. You must just get into the swing of things and start adding applications! Make sure your friends join too, so you can actually do stuff to them. ;)

Leave a Reply

