Of Destruction and Love through Paulo Coelho

A brief respite from my blog-hermitude.
I have been living off a filling diet of Paulo Coelho, who empties me and fills me up at the same time.
Some excerpts from The Valkyries, that I thought was of significant importance to those who are thought-provoked, and left wondering about their existence and the road ahead.

“Because I’m desperately in need of help. I have won important things for myself, but I am going to destroy them, because I tell myself that they have lost their meaning. I know it’s not true. I know they are still important, and that if I destroy them, I’ll be destroying myself, as well.”

When I read this I realised, how true it was of so many of us. Letting go of things that are so important to us, and that if those very same things were forcefully taken away from us, we would be bawling on the floor and pounding fists on the ground. The following excerpt is from the Epilogue of the same book. What I would suggest is to take a quiet moment, read each and every word carefully, and see how this applies to you, if it does.

“Our defects, our dangerous depths, our suppressed hatreds, our moments of weakness and desperation – all are unimportant. If what we want to do is heal ourselves first, so that then we can go in search of our dreams, we will never reach paradise. If, on the other hand, we accept all that is wrong about us – and despite it, believe that we are deserving of a happy life – then we will have thrown open an immense window that will allow Love to enter. Little by little, our defects will disappear, because one who is happy can look at the world only with love – the force that regenerates everything that exists in the Universe.”

One Response to “Of Destruction and Love through Paulo Coelho”

  1. Hello!
    I’m also a big Paulo Coelho fan and I don’t know if you heard about his blog
    http://www.paulocoelhoblog.com
    I’ve started as a fan and now I’m collaborating with him and thought that you would like to enter his universe.
    Check the blog, if you want, or subscribe to his newsletter
    http://www.warriorofthelight.com/engl/index.html
    You’ll see a community of warriors of light sharing ideas, dreams and most importantly following their personal legend.

    QUOTE OF THE DAY:
    “Never give up on your dreams – follow the signs.”

    See u there and have a great day!
    Aart

Leave a Reply

