That Familiar Melancholy.

When I woke up today, I was flooded with a feeling that I felt quite some time back.
It had nothing to do with emotions.
It was more of an emptiness.
Maybe it was the weather.
It seemed like the day could not decide if it was morning or afternoon, perhaps, trapped between the two.
It was bright, but dulled by dirty ivory clouds.
It smelled as if it had just rained. Or actually, as though, it was going to rain.
Rain. And it’s fragrance. This time,  a little, undecided.
And it was familiar. Too familiar.
It was not a feeling of emptiness.
It was not even that.
It lacked even emptiness.
Escaping labels.

I didn’t feel like eating, but ate anyway.
I couldn’t keep still.
How strange. How familiar. How strangely familiar.
It’s a good thing I have things to occupy myself with.
I am working on a beaded necklace project, which I suspect is going to take me some time. Finally, after 4 years, got myself a Jewellery Making Pliers set from Spotlight. And then I’m into Book 3 of Lemony Snickett’s A Series of Unfortunate Events. And then of course there is my little secret project which I just can’t seem to draw inspiration for. I think I have to stop thinking too much about thinking.

melancholys.jpg

Melancholy. Melancholy. Melancholy.

2 Responses to “That Familiar Melancholy.”

  1. wellwisher Says:

    nice.. like something from a divakaruni novel.. ;)
    are u a fan?

  2. Wellwisher: You have no idea how much your comment made me smile. :D Although, that is too much of a flattery. :P Fan? I love her. Absolutely love her. She just creates such rich, warm and deep earthy colours with her words. Her imagery is just fantastic. Ahhh…

Leave a Reply

