Lesson #06 of the Girlfriends’ Guidebook

How to Deal With Your First Job Rejection

You see my darlings, the Highpriestess being the Highpriestess, rarely sees failures. (unless it’s anything to do with numbers.)
I owe this to my self-guardedness. I never take part in anything I know I don’t stand a chance in winning. (which explains my three year hat-trick for winning the Spelling Bee in Primary school.)
I seldom give other things a shot, so as to speak.
Failure and rejection is something I find very difficult to grapple with.

This being said, all my life, I knew that there will come a time where I’m grown up, where I will be rejected for a job position. (I mean, I can’t be accepted for every single thing I apply for, can I? Unless I was……………) moving on.
But although I prepared myself for this day mentally, I thought I will be devastated at the first rejection.
Well, it happened yesterday and I am surprised I did not shed one tear nor feel like a total failure. I wonder why. There are many reasons to this I suppose.
1) I am really in no rush to work. (I might have died in devastation if I owned a car or chalked up credit bills. It’s just that I hate, absolutely hate, to ask my parents for money. It is downright embarassing.)
2) I am still young.
3) It was my very first experience. (So I’m cutting myself some slack.)
4) Faith. (God will give me what I have to do. I’m hoping he’s not waiting to add waitressing on that list.)

ksmn552l.jpg

So yes. Being my first job interview/test yesterday, or something to that effect, I was a little mentally unprepared and very, very nervous. (I am withholding the name of the company or job scope, for when I finally get the job, I shall disclose all the places I had applied to.) There I went. Very early. Nervous and shaky. I knew it was wrong but I couldn’t help myself! It was my first time and I just had no idea what to expect. A few things I learned from the experience:

1) Do NOT under any circumstance feel nervous. Many of the others are probably feeling the same way and showing that your jelly legs are going to give way will only single you out as the weakest link.

2) If you can’t help but quieten the free-roaming butterflies in your stomach, it’s okay. You can’t help yourself emotionally, but physically, please look fine. Doesn’t matter that the rest are in power suits with a huge, thick, leather covered resume/qualifications file. If you were not good enough, you wouldn’t be there in the first place. So, feel confident, suck in your stomach, shoulders out, and walk like you own all these people. Of course, when it comes to the actual meeting with your potential employer, playing the “i’m-too-good-for-you” pride card, will be the death of you.

3) It is okay to ask your employer questions. If there are certain things you are not sure of, ask. It shows an interest in the company and in the task that you are given to do. So, don’t be shy, go ahead and ask that burning question (unless the question is “When will I get my pay rise? ” or “Where did you get that pink bra which is showing through your blouse?” *insert giggle*)
Okay. That said. It was quite an interesting experience that I do not regret. I will do it all over again if given the chance.  I know the road ahead is going to be bumpy, with maybe a few (or lots if I am that unlucky) experiences like the above, but at least I take away some learning experiences.
You see, everyone experiences failure in some form at one point or the other. The important thing is not to dwell on the failure, as that is something that is not unique only to you. The unique thing is picking yourself up from it, and extracting information and learning life lessons from it. Only then, you know your journey was worth it. :)

4 Responses to “Lesson #06 of the Girlfriends’ Guidebook”

  1. *hugs* I’m so happy you’re taking this positively. There are some I know who absolutely break down into bits & pieces & atoms & quarks on getting their first job rejection, & go on to vow they’ll forever despise the company that tore their pride asunder & never go for another job interview. *sigh* Such melodrama.

    I’ve veered off-point, haven’t I? *U-turn* Anyhows, I’m so happy that you’re taking this well & as a “leaning experience” (to quote good ‘ole Mrs Tay Soh Har =P).
    I’m so sure that you’re perfect job is waiting just around the corner for you! Lotsa love darling girl!

  2. it is excellent that you are taking this as a learning experience. coz thats how it shd be; regardless of whether u get the job or not.
    for each day is a new experience; in some way or another.
    good luck!!
    *hug*

  3. Oh i remember once..i applied for this internship…and i had to present 2 proposals…the entire presentation took abt 15 minutes and the interview itself took almost 45 minutes…and i did not get it! :( I spent an entire 5 minutes feeling lousy..and then started thinking how stupid the interviewers were :D

    Good luck on your next few interviews dear!

  4. raji: Given my propensity for melodrama, i surprised myself with my passivity. BUT, definitely a ‘leaning experience’, no less! :)

    ibs: thanks, man.

    ambiga: i will need the luck. really. heh ;) mwah. thanks love.

Leave a Reply

