Lesson #05 of the Girlfriends’ Guidebook

How To Storm Out of the House Without Really Storming Out of the House and Doing It With Elegance and Panache.

I was extremely upset yesterday and needed some time alone. I just did not feel like talking to or seeing anybody. What I wanted to do was to just get away where no one will see me. Of course, I could have done the most dramatic “I’m Outta Here!” and slam  the door and march off routine. But the Highpriestess being the Highpriestess, I had other plans.

I took a nice bath. Said my prayers quietly. Put on my favourite dress. Slipped into my gorgeous, gold heels. Kohl-rimmed my eyes, and applied the lightest shade of peach lipstick and gloss, spritzed on my Lovely SJP perfume, and I drifted out of the house like an angel. (cough.)

Somehow the stars seemed to be with me. As I was walking down the stairs to the bus-stop, the bus 518 which usually makes me wait not less than 30 minutes, arrived just as I did. I hopped on and listened to my favourite songs. I was excited at the prospect of browsing a never-ending selection of books at Borders and I smiled. Then, my stop came. I got off. Lo and Behold, nature decided that the Highpriestess deserved her own smoke-machine for a glam effect, and I was greeted by a huge mass of haze that lingered everywhere. People were cowering and coughing a little. But I put my head up high, took a huge breath, and kept it in till I reached Wheelock place.

Browsed through lovely, lovely Bath and Fragrance gift items at Marks & Spencers. Bought a book that rivals my Girlfriends’ advise (“How To Walk In High Heels”). What an excellent book. Also purchased a mini Flower Fairies calendar. After an hour or so of browsing with no one to rush me, I took my seat at the Mc Cafe at Shaw House and sipped on an amazing concoction of Mango and Vanilla, while munching on the most yummy slice of Orange Praline cake, all the while reading my new pink coloured covered book.

Just then my cell rang, and it was the Sweetheart (Henceforth referred to as SH.) My game was up and I confessed I was alone. Men, being men, he panicked a little and asked if I was okay. I said I was more than okay. A couple of hours later, my escape through solitude ended, and we met up. We then went to a lovely place in Clarke Quay which is really another story for another day. :)

The strangest thing is that, as a child, I never was very comfortable being alone. I often felt lonely and a gnereal feeling of ‘loserishness’ will descend upon me. But lately, I have never felt more alone then when I am with a group of people. And yesterday’s little date with myself, did wonders for me. I felt comfortable, confident and at peace. I’m wondering if it’s a good thing or a bad thing. But because of the way I’m feeling now, I’m going to have to settle for the former. :)

No more dramatic exits now. A quiet, elegant departure from a nerve-wrecking situation does wonders for the mind, body and soul.

One Response to “Lesson #05 of the Girlfriends’ Guidebook”

  1. welcome … ;)

Leave a Reply

